Skip to content

My eyes! My eyes!

February 12, 2009
by

Well, I’m going home. It has all happened so fast that I can hardly believe it! I’ve been wanting to get LASIK or some other laser correction surgery for a while now and finally decided that I should do it before our long, upcoming trip (more on that some other time). Our trip begins at the end of the March, so we don’t really have much time left. I went to the eye doctor in Zurich and made an appointment to have iLASIK. Then I found out the cost.

Holy Eyesight! It’s freakin’ expensive here.  AND I couldn’t get an appointment until the end of February.

So, I looked into the cost of the procedure in the US. It’s half the price of having it done here! Next, I looked up flight costs within the next few days and it’s only around $750 right now. Seriously! That’s cheaper than any other time we’ve flown home. It’s a sign.

After many bad-connection skype calls home, I have an appointment on February 17 to do all the pre-op tests on my eyes. I’m scheduled for surgery on February 18.

I’m flying into Nashville and my mom is picking me up on the evening of Monday, February 16 and we’re actually doing this! I have to stay for a one-week post-op appointment on February 25 and then I’m coming back on February 26…and all before I could have gotten my over-priced surgery in Zurich!

The actual surgery is in Nashville, so Mom and I are staying in a hotel downtown for a couple of nights and will get to have some nice girl time.

It’s all happening so fast. I can’t believe it is working out and I can’t believe I’m heading home for a few days! Wow!

Soon I won’t be able to have any more four-eyes pictures with my nephews.

This is from 2004. They are so little!

This is from 2004 just after they got glasses. They are so little!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. munichbavaria permalink
    February 15, 2009 10:57 am

    Your nephews are absolutely adorable. I’m glad that you even get a trip home out of this! Hopefully you have a speedy recovery. I’m so interested in hearing more about your trip – it sounds like such an unbelievable experience.

  2. February 15, 2009 12:29 pm

    Colin just brought up us getting Lasik the other day. My Dad got it a few years ago and my 91 year old Grandpa did, too and they both loved it. I’m still a bit nervous…Good luck!

  3. lorryfach permalink
    February 15, 2009 12:45 pm

    I’m still too nervous too, and in fact only recently started warming up to the idea of contact lenses. Maybe you’ll inspire me, though! 🙂

  4. Lori permalink*
    February 15, 2009 2:19 pm

    Well, I’ve worn contacts for 15 years, so I’m more than ready to do this! I’ve heard so many wonderful stories that I just can’t wait!!

  5. Colleen permalink
    February 17, 2009 1:10 pm

    How exciting…let me know how it goes, JB is thinking of doing this at the end of the year if we still have money in our FSA’s. Have fun visiting with your Mom!

Leave a Reply

