Skip to content

Ice Ice Baby

January 31, 2009

If you are in the US, you are well aware that there is a terrible ice storm in the Midwest and South, my hometown of Paducah included. About 1 million people, including my family, have been without power since Tuesday morning. Luckily, my mom’s power came back on Friday evening and now my sister, Leslie, and her family are staying with my mom. They’re not sure when her power will come back on! What a mess!

The Fox’s, good friends of our family, took some awesome photos in the midst of the mayhem. You can check out their other photography at Fox Photography.

Daytime:


Market House Theatre


Street on Market House Square - I think it's 3rd Street.

Other ice pictures of downtown:

And at night:

Nice picture with the floodwall murals in the background

I only included the pretty pictures rather than the ones showing the devastation. Maybe I will add some picture later of all the fallen power lines, broken limbs and covered roads.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. munichbavaria permalink
    January 31, 2009 1:48 pm

    How pretty! Hopefully people get their power back pronto!

  2. Holly permalink
    January 31, 2009 7:24 pm

    It does look beautiful despite its devastating effects. I hope the power is back up and running soon.

Leave a Reply

