Skip to content

I Love My Mom – Part 1

August 2, 2008

My mom came to visit us for 17 days in July and August and we had so much fun! This was her second visit here. Yes, my mother has made the long trip over here twice! Actually, that is the same number of times that I have been home since we moved here. And just before she left realized that over the last two years, we have spent more time together in Switzerland than in the US. Weird.

I still had to work a few days while Mom was here because I used up a ton of vacation days during our trip to Scandinavia. So, for the days that I had off, I tried to have something fun planned. The first weekend, I planned a trip into the Alps. Or so I thought. We hopped on the train and were on our way. After about 30 minutes of our 3 hour journey, it just hit me. The mountain trip is next weekend. Whoa. Major miscalculation. I was so distraught. How could I have made such a huge mistake? And what in the world made me think of it at that moment? Josh was going to meet us there later, so I called him and reluctantly gave him my email password to check the dates on all the reservations. Yep, next weekend. After I calmed myself down and admitted my mistake to my mother, I decided we would spend the day in Bern, the capital of Switzerland, since it was the first stop on the train.

We were able to hit the major sites in one day. Our first stop was the Zytglogge. It’s a medieval clock tower built in the early 13th century. Without planning it, we were there just as the bells were ringing and the moving puppets were doing their thing. We were less than impressed.

From the clock, we strolled along Kramgasse which is the main shopping street. We admired the architecture and cutesy fountains.

It also includes the Einsteinhaus. On the second floor of Kramgasse 49 is the flat where Albert Einstein and his first wife Mileva lived from 1903 to 1905. (They later divorced and she received the prize money from Einstein’s Nobel prize which we learned about while visiting The Nobel Museum in Stockholm. I completely forgot to blog about this.) Anyways, I’m thinking, so what if he lived here? But then as I shoddily translate the German on the wall, we learn that this is where he wrote the Annus Mirabilis Papers which includes the Photoelectric Effect, Brownian Motion, Special Theory of Relativity and Matter and Energy Equivalence. This really doesn’t mean much to me except maybe this theory of relativity, but it sounds pretty cool.

Then we made our way to the Munster of Bern, the 15th century Gothic Cathedral. It’s tower is 100 meters and is the tallest in Switzerland.

We continued to stroll around this beautiful city. We eventually made it to the Barengrabe (bear pits) which is just kind of sad. The bears even looked sad.

We had a great day despite huge mix up!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Abby permalink
    August 28, 2008 3:20 pm

    Berne looks so lovely, so happy mistake!

    It looks like you had perfect sunny weather as well! I love your pictures!

Trackbacks

  1. We finally made it to Geneva! « The Gunn Show

Leave a Reply

