Skip to content

Flying is for the birds

April 28, 2008

We have been busy travelers over the last two weekends which included 4 days in Venice and 3 days in London. For now, I want to tell you about our flights.

Ok, it’s not the actual flights that I don’t like. The flying part is fine. It’s the security and checking-in that is for the birds. I mean, it’s ridiculous. I have made it thus far without seriously complaining about the whole liquids situation and such, but now I just have to.

Our flight to Venice left at 7:30 am on Friday, April 18. We were at the airport around 6:30 which was plenty of time since we already checked-in online and didn’t plan to check any bags. However, I will admit before I tell the story, that at the last minute, I decided to try to take my bottle of curl enhancer which is 140 ml. The limit is 100 ml. Since they rarely look inside your suitcase, I decided to chance it.

Bad decision. We got to security and the x-ray machine blatantly showed the cork screw that I keep in my toiletry kit. (This cork screw has come in very handy on these little trips because some evenings we are very tired and just take a bottle of wine back to the hotel.)  Security wanted to see the cork screw, so they opened the suitcase and started going through my stuff. First thing that happened, they found the curl stuff and threw it away. Fine. I knew I shouldn’t have it. Then they finally found the cork screw (which I would have gladly shown them if I knew that was what they were looking for). They looked at it and then put it right back in my case. It has a knife on it! And a sharp spiral tool! It seems a little dangerous to me! I expected them to throw it out, but I got to keep it. Also, the cork screw was in the same pouch as two razors, triple-blade! What about those?

Conclusion: Curl enhancer – security threat; Cork Screw with knife and 6 razor blades – no problem.

Note: Josh’s toiletry kit wasn’t checked.

Our flight to London was even earlier. It left at 7:05 am on Friday, April 25. Once again we checked-in online and didn’t plan to check any bags, so we got to the airport around 6:00. This time, I did not try to smuggle in any liquids. (Mostly because I still haven’t replaced the curl spray.) I had the EXACT SAME toiletry kit in my suitcase. So, the cork screw raised some red flags again and my case got checked. This time, the guard insisted on looking through my kit and Josh’s kit. They looked at the cork screw and put it back. They didn’t mention the razors. Oh, but I had some toothpaste! It was a full-size tube but it was almost empty and therefore not possibly over the limit.  To the trash! The reason this irritated me so much was because it was the exact same kit from the weekend before, I didn’t even unpack it!

Forget Josh’s kit making it through…it had a 120 ml jar of hair gel and another full-tube of toothpaste. To the trash! His razors, however, were also no problem.

Conclusion: Toothpaste and hair gel – security threat; Cork screw with knife and 10 razor blades – no problem.

The worst part was that it was Aquafresh that we brought from the US.

To add insult to injury, the check-in lady at Heathrow insisted that our carry-on bags be weighed. Do you know what the carry-on weight limit is? Apparently it’s 8 kg. My bag was 10.5 kg. She asked if I would like to move stuff from my bag into our other carry-on bag. No, just forget it. Check the stupid bag. I’m tired of dealing with it. It took me forever to get it zipped and the security will probably want to open it anyways. Just take it.

Conclusion: Security wants all passengers to check their bags. Maybe it’s related to this or this.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 19, 2008 7:34 pm

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Clown!

Leave a Reply

