Skip to content

Silver Lining

February 20, 2008

I don’t think I am known for always seeing the positive side of situation, and I’m really trying to change this. Several months ago, a colleague told me “Immer müssen Sie ein Haar in der Suppe finden.” This translates as “You must always find the hair in the soup” meaning that I can always find something to complain about. He said he was kidding, but I’m not so sure.

So, I thought this would be a good opportunity to find the good in this currently painful situation. So far, here it is:

  • It has reminded me to be thankful for all of the wonderful things that God has given me. I actually do thank God for my blessings quite often because I have so many. However, I think everyone needs to be reminded once in a while.
  • I haven’t had to physically go to work all week. I have answered e-mails and done a little bit of work from home, but I haven’t had to go to the office and directly deal with all the stress.
  • I now know how to get blood stains out of clothes. I just googled it and followed the instructions. It worked!
  • I had the opportunity to schedule a doctor’s appointment in German and I was successful. I scheduled the appointment and was doing very well until I had to describe what happened. Forget it. But I still call it a success because I made the actual termine in German.
  • I got a Tetanus shot while I was in the ER. The nurse asked when I had my last Tetanus shot and I had no idea. High school? So, now I don’t have to worry about that for a while.
  • Since I am supposed to protect my face from the sun for the next 6 months, I get to go buy a cute, little summer hat to wear while we’re by the lake. And yes, I said 6 months.

See, there are all kinds of good things that have happened because of this.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

